Mystery, romance, comedy, a little paranormal – you get it all in the new Sweet Thangs mystery series by Emma Ames.

Emma Ames, welcome to Romance Lives Forever. I’m Kayelle Allen, author and owner of this blog. Happy to have you here! Please tell us about your series.

Secrets, Lies, and Homemade Pies in the Sweet Thangs Mystery Series

Genre mystery

Book heat level (based on movie ratings): Even though there is no graphic language or sex, I’d still rate it R because of adult themes.

Not only does Tizzy Donovan think her cup is always half-empty, she’s pretty sure someone has spit in it. When she discovers a murder victim in the cemetery and lead after lead points to her as the culprit, her looming damnation comes in the form of handsome Texas Ranger, Ridge Cooper.

With pressure mounting, Tizzy uses her ability to communicate with the dead to help clear her name, but will their clues be enough to prove her innocence and solve the case?

Secrets, Lies, and Homemade Pies is a ‘sweet’ version of Ann Everett’s steamy romantic mystery, Laid Out and Candle Lit.

Which book is this in the series?

This is book one. It probably has as much romance as mystery because I introduce the two main characters who are central to each story. In the following books, romance takes a backseat.

How many books do you plan for the series?

Undecided. Three for sure. Maybe more. These characters are near and dear to my heart, so I hate to let them go. I already have a story idea churning in my noggin’ for a fourth book.

How many books are completed?

I am currently on the last edit of the third book, (Pretty Bows and Turned Up Toes) which should be out in a couple of months. It has the zaniest cast of characters yet, including a talking parrot!

What characters are the main stars in your series?

Tizzy Donovan Cooper is the main character, but her love interest/husband, Ridge Cooper, also takes center stage. He’s a Texas Ranger and Tizzy likes to meddle in his cases.

What is the overall theme in this series?

There’s always a mystery to solve, but quite a bit of humor and a sprinkling of paranormal. Some might consider these cozy mysteries, but they are edgier than a typical cozy because they deal with adult themes.

Please list the series titles below, in any order you prefer.

Book 1—Secrets, Lies, and Homemade Pies

Book 2—Gloom, Doom, and Missing Groom

Book 3—Pretty Bows and Turned Up Toes

What did you like best about writing this series?

First, let me say Emma Ames writes ‘sweeter, cleaner’ versions of Ann Everett’s books. Emma’s books have no graphic language or sex scenes. If readers enjoy some heat to their stories, Ann furnishes those.

I loved writing this series because it’s set in my hometown of Brownsboro, Texas, and many of the characters are based on people I know or family members. Also, a lot of the silliness is true! Of course, I embellished the town and the characters. Brownsboro doesn’t have a bakery, but since my sister and I go by the nicknames of Sugarpie and Pattiecake, I had to put us in the series, and what better way than to have us own a bakery by the name of Sweet Thangs? I took liberties. I made us younger and gave us bigger boobs!

What other books (not in this series, have you written?)

No Good Without You, A Sparrow, Texas Romance

Where can we find links for all your books?

Where to buy Sweet Thangs Mystery Series


Emma Ames Social Media

Emma Ames is an alter-ego of Ann Everett, who is an alter-ego of a real person. All three live in Texas. Emma’s books are cleaner, sweeter versions of Ann’s steamy romances. They contain no graphic language or love scenes and always end with happily ever after.
Amazon Author Page