The Pawn-Book 1 of The King’s Cousins by Alexa Aston @AlexaAston #RLFblog #NewRelease #medievalromance Alexa Aston, welcome to Romance Lives Forever. I’m Kayelle Allen, author and owner of this blog. Happy to have you here! Please tell us about your book.

The Pawn (The King’s Cousins Book 1) by Alexa Aston

Genre: medieval romance
Book heat level (based on movie ratings): PG-13
The three young children of Adelard de Blays—two sons and a daughter—are separated when their father commits treason against the King of England. Follow each of their stories in The King’s Cousins, a new trilogy by bestselling author Alexa Aston.
1338 A.D. – Exiled to a convent after her father’s execution for treason, Katelyn de Blays has fleeting memories of the man she adored and the outside world. When her brother’s search leads him to finding Katelyn after many years, she is eager to leave with Landon and begin a new life. He brings her to the court of her cousin, Edward III, who betroths Katelyn to a powerful earl of Northumberland, using her as a political pawn to show his continued support of his northern noblemen.
When Sir Nicholas Mandeville returns from patrolling his family’s lands along the Scottish border, he discovers his father has died—and left a widow—whom his uncle wed Nicholas to by proxy during his absence. Angry at becoming the Earl of Northmere and having no choice regarding his wife, Nicholas vows to leave the widow untouched until he knows whether or not she carries his father’s child.
As time passes and Nicholas loses his heart to this brave, young woman, he is astonished to learn Katelyn wishes for their union to be annulled. Can he convince Kate to remain wed to him—or will Nicholas sacrifice his own happiness and let the enigmatic beauty go?
Each book in The King’s Cousins Trilogy is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.
Series Order:
Book #1: The Pawn
Book #2: The Heir
Book #3: The Bastard

Why did you write this book?
I’d just completed my 10-book medieval romance series The Knights of Honor and wanted to continue to write in this era. I was asked to contribute a book to the Pirates of Britannia World series and wrote God of the Seas, which came out January 29. The publisher asked that I tie my pirate book to something else I’d written, so I decided to make Godwin de Blays, my pirate captain, the grandfather of three siblings–Kate, Landon, and Quill. All I had to do then was write a trilogy for them! Thus, The King’s Cousins was born.
What is your favorite genre to read?
I love thrillers and romance.
Who is your favorite character from fiction (not including your own)?
I always come back to Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice.
What are you working on at the moment?
I’ve finished up The King’s Cousins and will be working on a new trilogy for 2019 now.
What books will we see from you in coming months?
I’m trying something new with The King’s Cousins. Since people (ME!) love to binge-watch on Netflix, I know readers like to binge on complete series. I’ll be doing rapid release for The King’s Cousins, with rollout dates of February 12, February 27, and March 5. That means readers can finish this trilogy in a short time (and also try God of the Seas, if they wish).

Where to buy The Pawn

Amazon (It’s free in KU):

Alex Aston Social Media

Alexa Aston is the author of Medieval and Regency romance, including her 10-book series The Knights of Honor, which takes place in 14th century England and centers on the de Montfort family. Each standalone romance focuses on the code of chivalry that bound knights of this era.
A native Texan, Alexa lives with her husband in a Dallas suburb, where she eats her fair share of dark chocolate and plots out stories while she walks every morning. She enjoys reading, Netflix binge-watching, and can’t get enough of Survivor or Game of Thrones.
Amazon Author Page