Defending the Duke St Clairs Book 4 by Alexa Aston @AlexaAston #RLFblog #NewRelease #RegencyRomance #FreeKUAlexa Aston, welcome to Romance Lives Forever. I’m Kayelle Allen, author and owner of this blog. Happy to have you here! Please tell us about your book.

Defending the Duke (The St Clairs Book 4) by Alexa Aston

Genre: Regency romance

Book heat level: PG-13

Can love grow between a reluctant duke and an illegitimate shop girl?

Anthony Godwin, trusted staff officer to the Duke of Wellington, returns from the Napoleonic Wars to learn both his father and brother are dead and he is the new Duke of Linfield. His anger and bitterness have grown through the years and he despises the Linfield name—because his father gave Anthony away when he was eight years old. Now he finds himself a part of the ton, with men seeking his advice and women vying to become his new duchess, all because of a title he now holds and never wanted.

Laurel Wright grew up in poverty. When her mother dies, Laurel learns she and her twin brother are the illegitimate offspring of the deceased Duke of Everton. Penniless and starving, she turns to the new Duke of Everton in desperation. Suddenly, Laurel is swept into a glittering, unfamiliar world as she is launched into the Season. Navigating her way proves daunting and when she is discovered in a compromising position with a man she’s only met, it leads to a quick marriage in which both partners agree that love will never be a part of their relationship.

Anthony never wanted a wife and is abruptly saddled with one. He tries to keep his distance from the raven-haired beauty who is now his duchess, but Laurel proves to be irresistible. Passion erupts between them and he finds himself longing for a child, though he fights growing closer to this new wife.

Will Laurel and Anthony be able to put the past behind them—and let love rule their future?

Each book in The St Clairs Trilogy is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order.
Series Order:
Book #1 Devoted to the Duke
Book #2 Midnight with the Marquess
Book #3 Embracing the Earl
Book #4 Defending the Duke
Book #5 Suddenly a St Clair (Coming December 3!)

Why did you write this book?

I had published my St Clairs trilogy (Devoted to the Duke, Midnight with the Marquess, and Embracing the Earl) earlier this year. Readers really took to this family and my publisher, Kathryn Le Veque, asked that I extend the series—thus, Laurel and Hudson St Clair get their own HEAs!

What is your favorite genre to read?

I read just about anything—romance, mystery, biography, cereal boxes.

Who is your favorite character from fiction (not including your own)?

I always come back to Elizabeth from Pride and Prejudice.

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m working on a medieval trilogy, Medieval Runaway Wives. It will come out Summer 2020.

What books will we see from you in coming months?

I’m very excited about my new Regency trilogy coming in February, March, and April. Look for Soldiers and Soulmates then.

Where to buy Defending the Duke (The St Clairs Book 4)

Amazon: (free in KU)

Alex Aston Social Media

Native Texan and former history teacher Alexa Aston lives with her husband in a Dallas suburb, where she eats her fair share of dark chocolate and plots out stories while she walks every morning. She enjoys reading, Netflix binge-watching, and attending sporting events when she’s not watching Survivor, The Crown, or Game of Thrones.
Alexa’s Medieval and Regency historical romances bring to life dashing knights and loveable rogues and include the series The Knights of Honor, The King’s Cousins, and The St Clairs.
Amazon Author Page